My Life as a Swordmage (5/5): The Future

We’ve just leveled up to 4th, and there’s some choices to make with respect to the direction my swordmage should take.

I haven’t really been happy with my swordmages Encounter 1 attack, Flame Cyclone. It’s not bad, per se, but I feel like it could be better. I could multiclass over into Wizard, but I’m not sure if I’d be getting something worth a couple feats. Also, not having the right sort of implement for wizard powers is a bit of a drag.
A defender takes one for the team.
If I did multiclass, for the Arcane Initiate power, I’d consider picking up Ray of Frost. A Ranged 10 power that slows the target sounds like just the thing to handle enemies trying to flee. I imagine it’d have other uses too.

The Novice Power, if I also take that, might be Chill Strike. Alternatively, Force Orb could be fun.

If I don’t multiclass, I suspect I’ll finally be taking Action Surge. It’s a great feat, and I’ve been missing it.

I’ll almost certainly be increasing my Strength and Constitution scores to 14 each, and that along with the 1/2-level bonus jump means that I’ll be better at quite a number of things.

On the magic item shopping list, it must be time to get some magical armour by now. I’ll have to wait and see what the treasure parcel fairy brings.

All in all, it’s been a heck of a ride so far. It feels like there’s always something useful and interesting to do. If you haven’t tried out this class yet, I recommend taking it for a spin.

Tags:

5 Responses to “My Life as a Swordmage (5/5): The Future”

  1. Zapp Says:

    You paid through the nose to get an Int of 20 when you started out, and now you aren’t always increasing it?!

    Sounds suboptimal if you ask me.

    I’d rather start out with an 16 Int (+2=18) which would give me enough points to have a great Str and Con already from the start, and then make sure all stat increases include Int throughout all levels.

    Glad to read you’re having fun though!

  2. rogercarbol Says:

    Yeah, that’d be another way to approach it, definitely. Partially my approach was due to being unsure about how quickly we were going to advance and whether any of us would survive to the stat-increasing levels. A bird in the hand, and all that.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Roger help! :D
    Let me explain quickly! – I am just starting to play a 4ed campaign with friends from another town! A crazy session it truly is, and I am playing a crazy character.
    A shapechanger swordmage!
    And the problem is (although I am familiar with 4ed) this is my first 4ed session ever! And so I scoured the internet searching for fellow swordmages to help me, and then I found your Swordmage guide, so please help a brother in need! :)
    I am starting as level 11.
    So, please, If you can, give me some hints what abilities should I pick, so that I don’t regret afterwards (and the campaign is truly something wonderful).
    Oh yes, the shapechangers have a +2 on intelligence and charisma.
    And they have that feint trick which they can use in combat.
    I already read your five pages of the swordmage guide, btw. :)

  4. elopingcamel Says:

    Man, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I just finished Richard Baker’s book and that got me excited (finally) about this class. It is the teleportation that really did it for me. I’ll definitely have to find a way to give this one a run.

    Thanks for the write up.

  5. Jasseji Says:

    i’d like to comment on the Ability/feat choices.

    you use STR basically only to get the hide armor, which adds up one more AC than leather but with a -1 check penalty.

    Otherwise the +1 bonus from STR is used only on basic attacks for lvl1 and for Greenflame Blade, at lvl2 you are switching the basic attack bonus (which would be in your case +2 from STR + 1/2 lvl) to a +6 from INT (+5 basic, +1 from 1/2 lvl)..

    Your total AC is 22 then at lvl3 with a -1 check penalty

    Why are you missing completely on the Improved Swordmage warding which has a requirement of 13DEX and gives a +1AC bonus armor you get 22AC without the check penalty (and your initiative jumps up to +2 from +1 DEX bonus and +1 from 1/2lvl) with following feats:
    Lvl1: Intelligent Blademaster, Weapon Proficiency (Bastard Sword)
    Lvl2: Improved Swordmage Warding (+1 AC bonus)

    So my proposal would be 10STR, 13CON, 13DEX, 20INT, 10WIS, 8CHA and having 22AC on lvl3 without any -1 Armor Check

    Just my 5cents :P

Leave a Reply

