Slacking Through the Sandbox

I’ve written an article about how I put together a slacker’s sandbox — a slackbox, if you will.

Read the pdf here.

All comments welcome.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Slacking Through the Sandbox”

  1. rainswept Says:

    I am curious to read it, but I get a “file is damaged and could not be repaired” prompt with both Foxit 2.0 and Acrobat 5.1.

  2. greywulf Says:

    Excellent pdf! This LazyGM wholeheartedly approves, digesting now.

  3. rogercarbol Says:

    I’m not sure why it would fail; I guess I’ll wait and see how widespread the problem is.

  4. sanglorian Says:

    Thanks for making this PDF open source, Roger! I’ve added it to the Year of Living Free:

    http://yearoflivingfree.info/slacking-through-the-sandbox

    Feel free to make any changes, or email me and I’ll make them for you.

  5. Bartholemew the Halfling Paladin Says:

    I’m starting to DM again this week after a two decade hiatus, and this has inspired me more than everything else I’ve read put together. I had no idea what to do with my world (I’ve got quite a few things put together for starting adventures, but the grand scheme was too overwhelming) and this helped me visualize it instantly.

    Awesome work.

  6. Fabian Says:

    Really great stuff – I’ve started running a PbP game set in the slackbox. The PCs are looking to eliminate the silt runners…

  7. Tavi Says:

    This is really sweet. Thanks for sharing it. I’m not running an entirely sandboxy game (there is a ‘main quest’ although the players aren’t obligated to do it), but now I’ve got a decent starting point for a map, and I think I do want to reward players for exploring away from the quests and sidequests if they wish.

Leave a Reply

